ROCHAMBEAU ، جان بابتيست دوناتيان دي فيمور ، الجندي الفرنسي ، المولود في فيندوم ، 1 يوليو ، 1725 ؛ توفي في قلعته في ثور ، 10 مايو ، 1807. كان والده الملازم أول وحاكم فيندوم. تم توجيه الابن للكنيسة ، وتلقى تعليمه في كلية اليسوعيين في بلوا ، عندما ترك أخوه الأكبر وريثًا وحيدًا لملكية الأب. دخل الجيش في 1742 كقائد في فوج القديس سيمون ، وخدم عبر نهر الراين ، وفي بافاريا وبو هيرنيا. تمت ترقيته كعقيد في مارس ، 1747 ، وكان حاضرا في حصار Maestricht في 1748 ، وبعد الانتهاء من السلام فاز لفوج له بسمعة كبيرة للدقة في الحفر. في 1 يونيو ، 1749 ، خلف والده كحاكم ل Vendome.

في مينوركا ، في أبريل ، 1756 ، قاد فوجه إلى الاعتداء على فورت سانت فيليب ، وساهم بشكل كبير في الاستيلاء على بورت ماهون. ثم تم إنشاء فارس من سانت لويس ، تمت ترقيته العميد ، وخدم مع ائتمان كبير في ألمانيا م 1758-'61. أصبح المفتش العام لسلاح الفرسان في 1769 ، والملازم العام ، 1 March ، 1780. تم تعيين الكونت روشامبو لقيادة الجيش الذي كان مقدرًا لدعم الوطنيين الأمريكيين ، وتم الحصول عليه من إذن لويس السادس عشر لرفعه إلى رجال 6,000. شرع في بريست ، 2 May ، 1780 ، وأبحر مباشرة تحت حراسة Chevalier de Ternay مع خمس سفن من الخط. قبالة برمودا هاجمهم أسطول بريطاني ؛ ولكن تم إرجاعها ، وفي 12 يوليو ، هبطوا بسلام في رود آيلاند. بدأ روشامبو على الفور في بناء التحصينات التي من خلالها منع السير هنري كلينتون والأدميرال أربوثن من شن هجوم تضافرت عليهما. بعد إنشاء مقره في نيوبورت ، كتب إلى لافاييت ، في 27 أغسطس ، حث فيه على تبني خطة حذرة للعمليات ، وفي مقابلة مع واشنطن في هارتفورد ، في 22 September ، قام بتنسيق عمليات الحملة التالية.

أسس انضباطًا شديدًا بين قواته ، وأرسل ابنه إلى باريس في 28 October ليحث على إعادة توجيه الأموال والإمدادات وإعادة فرضها. بعد تلقي أنباء عن وصول الكونت دي غراس مع رجال 3,000 ، أجرى مقابلة أخرى مع واشنطن تم خلالها تحديد خطة حملة فيرجين.

غادر أرباعه ، 18 يونيو ، 1781 ، وسار باتجاه نهر هدسون ، وهزم في جزيرة مانهاتن كتيبة من جيش كلينتون ، وعبر النهر كما لو كان يعتزم دخول نيو جيرسي ، ولكن ، بدلاً من ذلك ، انضم إلى جيش واشنطن في فيليبسبرج ، تسعة أميال من Kingsbridge. هذه الحركة الماهرة أرغمت كلينتون على التخلي عن بعثته المقترحة لإغاثة كورنواليس ، وأجبرت الأخير على التقاعد من فرجينيا. بعد عبور نهر ديلاوير في ترينتون ، تمت مراجعة الجيوش المتحدة من قبل الكونغرس في فيلادلفيا ، ووصل روشامبو وواشنطن ، متقدما بمرافقة صغيرة ، إلى ويليامزبرغ ، فرجينيا ، في 14 سبتمبر ، حيث التقيا مع لافاييت وكونت دي سايمون سيمون ، الذي كان قد هبط للتو. لقد قاموا بتنسيق خطة الحملة ، وبدأ الحصار المفروض على يوركتاون في 29 في شهر سبتمبر / أيلول. قُتِل الاعتداءان على المكان من قِبل القديس سيمون وروشامبو ، وبعد أن قادت الكونت دي غراس الأسطول الإنجليزي ، أدرك كورنواليس أن المزيد من المقاومة كان مستحيلًا. ، واستسلم. بعد عودته إلى أماكنه الشتوية ، أرسل روشامبو جوقة لوزون لمساعدة الجنرال غرين ، وفي إبريل ، سار 1782 ، لاستثمار نيويورك ، ولكن تم التخلي عن الخطة. بعد زيارة واشنطن ، ذهب إلى بروفيدنس ، رود آيلاند ، ورتب لإطلاق جيشه في بوسطن. قام مرة أخرى بزيارة إلى واشنطن في نيو ويندسور ، وشرع في خليج تشيسابيك ، 14 يناير ، 1783 ، على متن السفينة "Emeraude" ، التي وصلت إلى بريست في مارس التالي.

بعد الاستسلام في يوركتاون ، قدم له الكونغرس مدفعين تم أخذهما من العدو ، نقش عليه شعاره ونقش مناسب. أنشأ لويس السادس عشر له فارس القديس إسبريت ، وعينه حاكم بيكاردي وأرتوا ، وقدم له رسومات بالألوان المائية لفان بلارنبرج ، تمثل أسر يوركتاون ، والجيش الإنجليزي يدنس أمام الفرنسيين والأمريكيين. قبل مغادرته بوسطن ، قدم له الكونغرس قرارات أشادت بشجاعته ، والخدمات التي قدمها لقضية الاستقلال ، والانضباط الشديد الذي حافظ عليه في جيشه ، وأوعز أيضًا إلى وزير العلاقات الخارجية بالتوصية به. لصالح لويس السادس عشر. كان نائبًا لجمعية الشخصيات البارزة في 1788 ، حركات الشغب المكبوتة في الألزاس في 1790 ، تم إنشاء المارشال الميداني ، 28 December ، 1791 ، وبعد رفضه أن يصبح وزيراً للحرب ، تم تعيينه في قيادة جيش الشمال ، ولكن استقال ، 15 جولي ، 1792 ، وتقاعدت إلى قلعته. تم سجنه في مبنى الكونسيرجيري في باريس في 1793 ونجا من السقالة.
في 1804 تم إنشاؤه ضابط كبير من فيلق الشرف من قبل نابليون ومنح معاش. أحد التماثيل الأربعة التي تشكل جزءًا من نصب لافاييت الذي ستقامه حكومة الولايات المتحدة في واشنطن ، سيكون روشامبو. كتب Lute de Lancival في إملائه كتابه "Memoires du Marechal de Rochambeau" (مجلدات 2 ، باريس ، 1809 ؛ ترجمته إلى الإنجليزية بواسطة William E. Wright ، لندن ، 1838). توفيت زوجته 17 مايو ، 1824.

ابنه ، دوناتيان ماري جوزيف دي فايمور روشامبو ، فيكونت دي ، جندي فرنسي ، وُلد في قلعة روشامبو ، بالقرب من فيندوم ، 7 April ، 1750 ؛ توفي بالقرب من Leipsic ، سكسونيا ، 18 أكتوبر ، 1813 ، أصبح في 1767 ملازمًا في فوج Bourbonnois ، وتم ترقيته كابتن في 1773 والعقيد في 1779 ، وفي 1780 رافق والده إلى الولايات المتحدة كمساعد عام. في 28 أكتوبر ، تم إرساله إلى فرنسا مع إرسال رسائل مشفرة للملك ، وفي مارس بعد ذلك انضم إلى والده في نيوبورت. تمت ترقيته إلى رتبة جنرال في 1791 ، وتم تعيين الملازم أول ، 9 يوليو ، 1792 ، في أغسطس بعد الحاكم العام لجزر ليوارد ، وتهدئة سانتو دومينغو ، ولكن في مارتينيك كان يعارض من قبل الجيش الملكي ، تحت الكونت دي Behagues ، الحاكم العام السابق ، الذي كان مدعوما أيضا من قبل البريطانيين. أجبر روشامبو الأخير على العودة. لكنهم عادوا ، 14 فبراير ، 1794 ، مع رجال 14,000. على الرغم من أن قواته لم تتعد سوى عدد رجال 700 ، إلا أن روشامبو تعرض لحصار في قلعة سانت بيير لمدة تسعة وأربعين يومًا ، وتم الحصول عليه في 22 March ، وهو استسلام مشرف.

في 1796 تم تعيينه مرة أخرى حاكما عاما لسانتو دومينغو. لكن بسبب معارضته من قبل مفوضي الدليل ، تم نقله ونقله إلى فرنسا ، حيث تم سجنه في قلعة هام. تم تعيينه في 1802 نائب قائد الحملة الاستكشافية في سانتو دومينغو ، ووصل إلى 2 February في Fort Dauphin ، وهزم Tons-saint l'Ouverture (qv) في Crete de Pierrot ، في وادي Artibonite ، وفي Ravine de Couleuvre ، ومتابعة نجاحه ، دمر جيش المتمردين في ممرات كوهاس. بعد وفاة Victor Leclere (qv) و 2 December و 1802 ، واصل الحرب بقوة. لكن شدته والضرائب الثقيلة التي فرضها على البلاد أزعجت السكان الأثرياء ، وتضاءل جيشه يوميًا بسبب الهجرات والمجاعات والحمى الصفراء. ومع ذلك ، استعاد فورت دوفين ، وهزم ديسالين وكريستوف ، وخفف مرتين حامية جاكميل ، لكنه حاصره أخيرًا في كيب فرانسيس على يد ديسالين ، الذي كان مدعومًا بأسطول إنجليزي. الأحكام التي يجري استنفادها ، أخلى المدينة ، 30 نوفمبر ، 1803 ، واستسلم للأميرال الإنجليزية. تم نقله إلى جامايكا ، وفي 1805 تم إرساله إلى إنجلترا وسجن في قلعة حتى 1811 ، عندما حصل على إطلاق سراحه عن طريق التبادل. شارك في حملة 1813 في ألمانيا ، وقاد فرقة من سلاح لوريستون في معركتي لوتزين وباوتسن ، وفي لايبسيك ، حيث قُتل في ختام العمل.

ROCHAMBEAU, Jean Baptiste Donatien de Vimeure, French soldier, born in Vendome, 1 July, 1725 ; died in his castle at Thore, 10 May, 1807. His father was the lieutenant general and governor of Vendome. The son was destined for the church, and received his education in the college of the Jesuits at Blois, when the death of his elder brother left him sole heir to the paternal estate. He entered the army in 1742 as cornet in the regiment of Saint Simon, and served across the Rhine, and in Bavaria and Bo-hernia. He was promoted as colonel in March, 1747, was present at the siege of Maestricht in 1748, and after the conclusion of peace won for his regiment a great reputation for precision in drill. On 1 June, 1749, he succeeded his father as governor of Vendome.

At Minorca, in April, 1756, he led his regiment to the assault of Fort St. Philippe, and greatly contributed to the capture of Port Mahon. He was then created a knight of St. Louis, promoted brigadier-general, and served with great credit in Germany m 1758-’61. He became inspector-general of cavalry in 1769, and lieutenant-general, 1 March, 1780. Count Rochambeau was appointed to the command of the army that was destined to support the American patriots, and obtained from Louis XVI permission to increase it to 6,000 men. He embarked at Brest, 2 May, 1780, and sailed immediately under the escort of Chevalier de Ternay with five ships of the line. Off Bermuda a British fleet attacked them; but it was driven back, and on 12 July they landed safely in Rhode Island. Rochambeau began immediately to erect fortifications by which he prevented Sir Henry Clinton and Admiral Arbuthnot from making an attack that they had concerted. After establishing his headquarters at Newport, he wrote to Lafayette, on 27 August, urging the adoption of a cautious plan of operations, and in an interview with Washington at Hartford, on 22 September, concerted the operations of the following campaign.

He established a severe discipline among his troops, and sent his son to Paris on 28 October to urge the forwarding of money, supplies, and re enforcements. After receiving tidings of the arrival of Count de Grasse with 3,000 men, he had another interview with Washington in which the plan of the Virginian campaign was determined.

He left his quarters, 18 June, 1781, and, marching toward Hudson river, defeated on Manhattan island a detachment of Clinton’s army, and crossed the river as if he intended to enter New Jersey, but, instead, joined Washington’s army at Phillipsburg, nine miles from Kingsbridge. This skilful movement compelled Clinton to abandon his proposed expedition for the relief of Cornwallis, and obliged the latter to retire from Virginia. After crossing Delaware river at Trenton, the united armies were reviewed by congress at Philadelphia, and Rochambeau and Washington, taking the advance with a small escort, arrived at Williamsburg, Virginia, on 14 September, where they met Lafayette and Count de Saint Simon, who had just landed. They concerted the plan of campaign, and the siege of Yorktown was begun on 29 September Two assaults were led against the place by Saint Simon and Rochambeau, and Count de Grasse having driven back the English fleet, Cornwallis understood that further resist-ante was impossible, and he surrendered. After returning to his winter-quarters, Rochambeau sent Lauzun’s legion to the aid of General Greene, and, in April, 1782, marched to invest New York, but the plan was abandoned. After visiting Washington he went to Providence, Rhode Island, and arranged for the embarkation of his army at Boston. He paid again a visit to Washington at New Windsor, and embarked in Chesapeake bay, 14 January, 1783, upon the frigate “Emeraude,” arriving in Brest in March following.

After the surrender at Yorktown, congress presented him with two cannons that had been taken from the enemy, upon which were engraved his escutcheon and a suitable inscription. Louis XVI created him a knight of the Saint Esprit, appointed him governor of Picardy and Artois, and presented him with two water-color paintings by Van Blarenberghe, representing the capture of Yorktown, and the English army defiling before the French and Americans. Before he left Boston, congress had presented him with resolutions that praised his bravery, the services he had rendered to the cause of independence, and the severe discipline he had maintained in his army, and had also instructed the secretary of foreign relations to recommend him to the favor of Louis XVI. He was deputy to the assembly of the notables in 1788, repressed riotous movements in Alsace in 1790, was created field-marshal, 28 December, 1791, and, after refusing to become secretary of war, was appointed to the command of the Army of the North, but resigned, 15 Julie, 1792, and retired to his castle. He was imprisoned in the Conciergerie at Paris in 1793 and narrowly escaped the scaffold.
In 1804 he was created a grand officer of the Legion of honor by Napoleon and given a pension. One of the four statues forming a part of the Lafayette monument to be erected in Washington by the United States government, will be that of Rochambeau. Lute de Lancival wrote at his dictation his “Memoires du Marechal de Rochambeau” (2 vols., Paris, 1809; translated into English by William E. Wright, London, 1838). His wife died 17 May, 1824.

His son, Donatien Marie Joseph de Vimeure Rochambeau, Viscount de, French soldier, born in the castle of Rochambeau, near Vendome, 7 April, 1750; died near Leipsic, Saxony, 18 October, 1813, became in 1767 a lieutenant in the regiment of Bourbonnois, was promoted captain in 1773 and colonel in 1779, and in 1780 accompanied his father to the United States as assistant adjutant-general. On 28 October he was sent to France with cipher dispatches for the king, and in March following he rejoined his father at Newport. He was promoted major-general in 1791, and lieutenant-general, 9 July, 1792, appointed in August following governor-general of the Leeward islands, and pacified Santo Domingo, but in Martinique he was opposed by the royalist army, under the Count de Behagues, the former governor-general, who was also supported by the British. Rochambeau compelled the latter to re-embark; but they returned, 14 February, 1794, with 14,000 men. Although his forces numbered only about 700 men, Rochambeau sustained a siege in the fortress of St. Pierre for forty-nine days, and obtained, on 22 March, an honorable capitulation.

In 1796 he was again appointed governor-general of Santo Domingo; but, being opposed by the commissioners of the Directory, he was removed and transported to France, where he was imprisoned in the fortress of Ham. He was appointed in 1802 deputy commander of the expedition to Santo Domingo, and, landing on 2 February at Fort Dauphin, defeated Tons-saint l’Ouverture (q. v.) at Crete de Pierrot, in the valley of Artibonite, and at Ravine de Couleuvre, and, pursuing his success, destroyed the insurgent army in the passes of the Cohas range. After the death of Victor Leclere (q. v.), 2 December, 1802, he continued the war with vigor; but his severity and the heavy taxes he imposed upon the country displeased the wealthy population, and his army diminished daily by desertions, famine, and yellow fever. Nevertheless, he recaptured Fort Dauphin, defeated Dessalines and Christophe, and twice relieved the garrison of Jacmel, but was besieged at last in Cape Frangais by Dessalines, who was supported by an English fleet. Provisions being exhausted, he evacuated the city, 30 November, 1803, and surrendered to the English admiral. He was transported to Jamaica, and in 1805 was sent to England and imprisoned in a fortress till 1811, when he obtained his release by exchange. He took part in the campaign of 1813 in Germany, and commanded a division of the corps of Lauriston in the battles of Lutzen and Bautzen, and at Leipsic, where he was killed toward the close of the action.